Joel de la Fuente Nominated for 2013 Drama Desk Award for HOLD THESE TRUTHS

Joel de la Fuente Nominated for 2013 Drama Desk Award for HOLD THESE TRUTHS

Lisa Rothe & Joel de la Fuente, photo by Erika Kauffman

Good God!  I just posted this on Facebook: “I am over the moon–such amazing news!!!!! I just learned that Joel de la Fuente has been nominated this morning for a 2013 Drama Desk for Outstanding Solo Performance for my play HOLD THESE TRUTHS, produced by the Epic Theatre Ensemble last fall. A thousand congratulations to Joel–and more gratitude than I can express to everyone who made it our NYC production possible, and who came to hear Gordon Hirabayashi’s story. A toast to all of you!!!!!!”

And HOLD THESE TRUTHS director Lisa Rothe just posted this:  “Joel de la Fuente was just nominated for a Drama Desk Award for our show HOLD THESE TRUTHS by Jeanne Sakata!  Well deserved, Joel!!!”

And Joel just posted this:  “Wow, you guys. I’m so overwhelmed with gratitude for all the kind thoughts. It means SO MUCH to me. Thank you for all the well wishes — and thank you to Lisa Rothe, Jeanne Sakata, Mikiko Suzuki MacAdams, Cat Tate Starmer, Robert Chelimsky, Ron Russell, Melissa Friedman, James Wallert, Ryan Parow, Natalie Martin, Daniel Kluger, Margaret E. Weedon, Rebecca Spinac, and everyone at the Epic for supporting “Hold These Truths” in New York!”

Well said, Joel.  As you can see, we are having a party on Facebook with so many friends offering their congratulations and well wishes.  It’s moments like these that you look back and marvel at all the people who helped make the play happen, and moments like these that we can celebrate the fruits of all that hard labor.

Thank you, HOLD THESE TRUTHS family, friends and supporters—each and every one of you—for helping to make Joel’s honor possible.  And if you’d like to attend the Awards Ceremony, purchase tickets here!

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>